
Table 1 
Young Drivers (15-20) Involved in Fatal Crashes by Year and 
BAC Level
    Drivers Involved by their BAC Level
  Calendar Total Young Any Alcohol High Alcohol  
 Year Drivers Involved (BAC 0.01+) (BAC 0.08+) 
 Number Rate* Number Rate* Number Rate*

1999 8,187 64.71 1,772 14.01 1,368 10.81
2000 8,224 63.83 1,932 15.00 1,496 11.61
2001 8,166 64.84 1,885 14.97 1,444 11.47
2002 8,325 66.39 1,913 15.25 1,460 11.64

2003 7,884 63.37 1,861 14.96 1,466 11.78
Source: FARS 1999-2002 (Final), 2003 (ARF), Driver Licensing – FHWA, 
*Per 100,000 Licensed Young Drivers

      

Definitions
A motor vehicle crash is considered to be alcohol-related if 
at least one driver or nonoccupant (such as a pedestrian or 
pedalcyclist) involved in the crash is determined to have 
had a Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) of 0.01 gram per 
deciliter (g/dl) or higher. Thus, any fatality that occurs in an 
alcohol-related crash is considered an alcohol-related fatality. 
The term “alcohol-related” does not indicate that a crash or 
fatality was caused by the presence of alcohol.
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The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s 
(NHTSA) National Center for Statistics and Analysis (NCSA) 
released the latest annual crash statistics for the year 2003. 
A total of 42,643 people died on the Nation’s highways. 
The numbers were made available from NHTSA’s Fatality 
Analysis Reporting System (FARS), which annually collects 
crash statistics from 50 States, the District of Columbia and 
Puerto Rico. Motor vehicle crashes are the leading cause of 
death for 15 to 20 year olds (based on 2001 figures, which are 
the latest mortality data currently available from the National 
Center for Health Statistics). This Crash•Stats looks at young 
drivers (15-20) involved in fatal crashes, their Blood Alcohol 
Concentration (BAC) level and involvement rate per 100,000 
licensed young drivers.

All states and the District of Columbia have 21-year-old 
minimum drinking age laws, yet there were 1,861 young 
drivers involved in alcohol related fatal crashes in 2003. Table 
1 shows five-year trend data of young drivers involved in 
fatal crashes by their BAC level and rate per 100,000 licensed 
young drivers. Young drivers in fatal crashes with any alcohol 
(BAC 0.01 +) levels, increased by 5 percent, (from 1,772 in 
1999 to 1,861 in 2003), whereas the driver involvement rate 
for young drivers increased by 7 percent, (from 14.01 in 1999 
to 14.96 in 2003). Table 2 (overleaf) shows young drivers 
involved in fatal crashes in 2003 by state, their BAC level and 
involvement rate per 100,000 licensed young drivers.

For questions regarding the data reported in this note, contact Umesh G. Shankar [202-366-5558] or Cherian Varghese  
[202-366-1114].  Some of the findings in this note were obtained from the following NCSA publication: DOT HS 809 774.  
This crash stats and other general information on highway traffic safety may be accessed by internet users at: http://www-
nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/deparments/nrd-30/ncsa/AvailInf.html



Table 2
Young Drivers (15-20) Involved in Fatal Crashes by State and BAC Level - 2003
 Drivers Involved by their BAC Level
 State  Total Young Drivers Involved Any Alcohol (BAC 0.01+) High Alcohol (BAC 0.08+)
 Number Rate* Number Rate* Number Rate*

Alabama 195 71.11 51 18.60 41 14.95
Alaska 19 54.06 2 5.69 2 5.69
Arizona 168 85.96 40 20.47 35 17.91
Arkansas 110 76.79 30 20.94 17 11.87
California 719 55.54 150 11.59 116 8.96
Colorado 135 72.35 28 15.01 23 12.33
Connecticut 48 35.16 15 10.99 13 9.52
Delaware 37 98.70 8 21.34 5 13.34
Dist of Columbia 11 139.75 3 38.11 3 38.11
Florida 570 90.20 106 16.77 79 12.50
Georgia 293 83.96 41 11.75 35 10.03
Hawaii 25 59.12 14 33.11 9 21.28
Idaho 47 59.54 11 13.93 8 10.13
Illinois 302 51.48 71 12.10 53 9.04
Indiana 184 59.93 30 9.77 20 6.51
Iowa 88 54.53 20 12.39 17 10.53
Kansas 100 56.33 32 18.02 28 15.77
Kentucky 149 84.65 21 11.93 17 9.66
Louisiana 162 85.23 41 21.57 35 18.41
Maine 33 56.03 5 8.49 5 8.49
Maryland 118 56.61 38 18.23 25 11.99
Massachusetts 94 35.71 39 14.81 33 12.54
Michigan 248 49.41 43 8.57 34 6.77
Minnesota 136 56.45 25 10.38 18 7.47
Mississippi 146 87.68 30 18.02 27 16.21
Missouri 249 81.88 62 20.39 48 15.78
Montana 53 84.62 18 28.74 12 19.16
Nebraska 57 48.85 16 13.71 14 12.00
Nevada 65 83.04 15 19.16 12 15.33
New Hampshire 21 31.30 4 5.96 1 1.49
New Jersey 114 37.35 25 8.19 22 7.21
New Mexico 79 66.97 23 19.50 18 15.26
New York 236 39.53 55 9.21 46 7.71
North Carolina 286 97.11 64 21.73 49 16.64
North Dakota 28 58.99 14 29.50 13 27.39
Ohio 283 55.22 56 10.93 41 8.00
Oklahoma 122 61.13 26 13.03 19 9.52
Oregon 84 56.13 17 11.36 11 7.35
Pennsylvania 307 67.30 67 14.69 56 12.28
Rhode Island 25 68.14 10 27.25 10 27.25
South Carolina 167 74.03 49 21.72 37 16.40
South Dakota 28 57.14 13 26.53 11 22.45
Tennessee 208 72.30 46 15.99 40 13.90
Texas 714 75.67 227 24.06 187 19.82
Utah 70 43.27 8 4.95 6 3.71
Vermont 16 49.72 4 12.43 4 12.43
Virginia 163 56.39 41 14.19 31 10.73
Washington 123 48.26 37 14.52 27 10.59
West Virginia 62 78.42 15 18.97 11 13.91
Wisconsin 166 57.69 55 19.11 45 15.64
Wyoming 21 61.94 3 8.85 3 8.85
National 7,884 63.37 1,861 14.96 1,466 11.78 

Source: FARS 2003 (ARF), Driver Licensing – FHWA                                      * Per 100,000 Licensed Young Drivers
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