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State Traffic Data
Figure 1
2011 Traffic Fatalities by State and Percent Change From 2010
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In 2011, there were 32,367 motor vehicle traffic fatalities in the United States, a 
2-percent decrease from 2010.

State-by-State Tables
Eight tables provided in these sections show various fatality data by State.

1. Traffic Fatalities and Fatality Rates, 2011 – The fatality rate per 100 million vehicle 
miles traveled was 1.10 for the Nation in 2011. Montana and Puerto Rico had the 
highest rates (1.79 and 1.93, respectively), and Maine had the lowest rate (0.62).

2. Traffic Fatalities and Percent Change, 1975-2011 – Thirty-six States showed 
decreases in fatalities from 2010 to 2011, ranging from less than 1 percent to as 
much as 31 percent.

3. Traffic Fatality Rates and Percent Change, 1975-2011 – The fatality rate per 100 
million vehicle miles traveled has decreased by 67 percent since 1975, with the 
decreases by State ranging from 56 percent to 82 percent.

4. Alcohol Involvement in Fatal Traffic Crashes, 2002 and 2011 – Nationwide in 2011, 
alcohol-impaired driving (blood alcohol concentration [BAC] of .08 grams per 
deciliter [g/dL] or higher) was involved in 31 percent of traffic fatalities, which was 
the same in 2002. Table 4 provides these comparisons for each State. This table also 
presents the percentage of drivers involved in fatal crashes where BAC tests were 
given and the results were known in 2011. Nationwide 72 percent of drivers killed 
were tested and their results were known, while 30 percent of drivers who survived 
fatal crashes were tested with known results.

5. Speeding-Related Traffic Fatalities, by Roadway Function Class, 2011 – There were 
9,944 speeding-related fatalities in the United States in 2011. This table provides a 
break-down by State.

6. Passenger Vehicle Occupants and Motorcyclists Killed, 2011– In 26 States and 
Puerto Rico, 50 percent or more of the passenger vehicle occupants killed were 
unrestrained. Nationwide in 2011, 40 percent of motorcyclists killed were not 
helmeted. However, in 16 States over 70 percent of motorcyclists killed were 
not helmeted.

7. Traffic Fatalities and Vehicles Involved in Fatal Crashes by Type, 2011 – The 
majority of people killed in traffic crashes were drivers (51%), followed by 
passengers (18%), motorcyclists (14%), pedestrians (14%), and pedalcyclists (2%). 
Delaware, Idaho, Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia reported no 
pedalcyclists killed.

8. Fatalities in the Beds of Pickup Trucks, by Age, 2011– In 2011, 47 fatalities occurred 
in the beds of pickup trucks.

Three tables provided in these sections contain information on State Laws.

9. Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Belt Use Rates – In 2011, all 
50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico had seat belt use laws. All 50 
States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico also had laws requiring children 
of certain ages to be restrained in child safety seats.

10. History of State Motorcycle Helmet Laws – Motorcycle helmets were required for 
all riders in 19 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico in 2011. Twenty-
eight States had helmet requirements with exceptions (age, rider type, roadway 
type), and three States (Illinois, Iowa, and New Hampshire) did not require helmets 
at all.

11. State Traffic Safety Laws as of June 2011 – In 2011, it was a criminal offense to 
operate a motor vehicle at a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of .08 g/dL or 
above in all 50 States, the District of Columbia, and Puerto Rico.
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Table 1.
Traffic Fatalities and Fatality Rates, 2011

State
Traffic 

Fatalities
Population 
(thousands)

Licensed 
Drivers

(thousands)

Registered 
Vehicles

(thousands)

Vehicle Miles 
Traveled

(millions)

Fatality Rates per

100,000 
Population

100,000 
Licensed
Drivers

100,000 
Registered
Vehicles

100 Million 
Vehicle

Miles Traveled
AL 894 4,803 3,799 4,812 64,914 18.61 23.54 18.58 1.38
AK 72 723 521 758 4,593 9.96 13.81 9.50 1.57
AZ 825 6,483 4,592 5,109 59,574 12.73 17.96 16.15 1.38
AR 549 2,938 1,956 2,448 32,953 18.69 28.07 22.42 1.67
CA 2,791 37,692 23,857 29,177 320,784 7.40 11.70 9.57 0.87
CO 447 5,117 3,670 4,332 46,606 8.74 12.18 10.32 0.96
CT 220 3,581 2,986 2,829 31,197 6.14 7.37 7.78 0.71
DE 99 907 716 929 9,028 10.91 13.82 10.65 1.10
DC 27 618 395 316 3,568 4.37 6.83 8.54 0.76
FL 2,398 19,058 13,882 15,469 191,855 12.58 17.27 15.50 1.25
GA 1,223 9,815 6,506 7,534 108,454 12.46 18.80 16.23 1.13
HI 100 1,375 912 1,148 10,066 7.27 10.97 8.71 0.99
ID 167 1,585 1,084 1,625 15,937 10.54 15.41 10.28 1.05
IL 918 12,869 8,374 10,445 103,234 7.13 10.96 8.79 0.89
IN 750 6,517 6,570 6,133 76,485 11.51 11.42 12.23 0.98
IA 360 3,062 2,192 3,497 31,274 11.76 16.43 10.30 1.15
KS 386 2,871 2,026 2,446 30,021 13.44 19.06 15.78 1.29
KY 721 4,369 2,960 3,763 48,061 16.50 24.36 19.16 1.50
LA 675 4,575 3,186 4,053 46,513 14.75 21.18 16.66 1.45
ME 136 1,328 1,015 1,171 14,248 10.24 13.40 11.61 0.95
MD 485 5,828 3,857 3,906 56,221 8.32 12.58 12.42 0.86
MA 337 6,588 4,683 5,695 54,792 5.12 7.20 5.92 0.62
MI 889 9,876 7,060 9,183 94,754 9.00 12.59 9.68 0.94
MN 368 5,345 3,306 4,910 56,685 6.89 11.13 7.50 0.65
MS 630 2,979 1,927 2,037 38,851 21.15 32.70 30.94 1.62
MO 784 6,011 4,277 5,170 68,789 13.04 18.33 15.16 1.14
MT 209 998 752 1,219 11,660 20.94 27.77 17.14 1.79
NE 181 1,843 1,356 1,887 19,093 9.82 13.34 9.59 0.95
NV 246 2,723 1,701 2,152 24,189 9.03 14.46 11.43 1.02
NH 90 1,318 1,057 1,278 12,720 6.83 8.52 7.04 0.71
NJ 627 8,821 5,977 7,940 73,094 7.11 10.49 7.90 0.86
NM 353 2,082 1,419 1,772 25,533 16.95 24.88 19.92 1.38
NY 1,169 19,465 11,211 10,431 127,726 6.01 10.43 11.21 0.92
NC 1,227 9,656 6,569 6,250 103,772 12.71 18.68 19.63 1.18
ND 148 684 490 786 9,131 21.64 30.20 18.83 1.62
OH 1,016 11,545 7,982 10,217 111,990 8.80 12.73 9.94 0.91
OK 696 3,792 2,371 3,429 47,464 18.36 29.36 20.30 1.47
OR 331 3,872 2,774 3,128 33,373 8.55 11.93 10.58 0.99
PA 1,286 12,743 8,797 10,303 99,204 10.09 14.62 12.48 1.30
RI 66 1,051 750 919 7,901 6.28 8.80 7.18 0.84
SC 828 4,679 3,408 3,827 48,730 17.70 24.29 21.63 1.70
SD 111 824 603 995 9,002 13.47 18.40 11.15 1.23
TN 946 6,403 4,544 5,302 70,751 14.77 20.82 17.84 1.34
TX 3,016 25,675 15,123 19,617 237,440 11.75 19.94 15.37 1.27
UT 240 2,817 1,747 1,883 26,222 8.52 13.73 12.74 0.92
VT 55 626 522 605 7,141 8.78 10.54 9.09 0.77
VA 764 8,097 5,467 6,998 80,974 9.44 13.97 10.92 0.94
WA 457 6,830 5,179 5,881 56,955 6.69 8.82 7.77 0.80
WV 337 1,855 1,199 1,458 18,963 18.16 28.11 23.11 1.78
WI 582 5,712 4,147 5,244 54,402 10.19 14.03 11.10 1.07
WY 135 568 422 798 9,245 23.76 32.00 16.91 1.46
U.S. 32,367 311,592 211,875 257,512 2,946,131 10.39 15.28 12.57 1.10
PR 359 3,707 - 2,647 18,588 9.69 - 13.56 1.93

Sources: Fatalities—Fatality Analysis Reporting System (FARS); Licensed Drivers (estimated)—Federal Highway Administration; Registered Vehicles by State (estimated)—
Federal Highway Administration; Registered Vehicles for USA—R.L. Polk & Co. and Federal Highway Administration; Population—Bureau of the Census. Note: Licensed driver 
data not available for Puerto Rico.
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Table 2.
Traffic Fatalities and Percent Change, 1975–2011

State
Fatalities Percent Change

1975 1985 1995 2005 2010 2011 1975–1985 1985–1995 1995–2005 1975–2011 2010–2011
AL 902 882 1,114 1,148 862 894 -2% +26% +3% -1% +4%
AK 112 127 87 73 56 72 +13% -31% -16% -36% +29%
AZ 670 893 1,035 1,179 759 825 +33% +16% +14% +23% +9%
AR 559 534 631 654 571 549 -4% +18% +4% -2% -4%
CA 4,092 4,960 4,192 4,333 2,720 2,791 +21% -15% +3% -32% +3%
CO 581 579 645 606 450 447 -0% +11% -6% -23% -1%
CT 389 448 317 278 320 220 +15% -29% -12% -43% -31%
DE 122 104 121 133 101 99 -15% +16% +10% -19% -2%
DC 70 60 58 48 24 27 -14% -3% -17% -61% +13%
FL 1,998 2,832 2,805 3,518 2,444 2,398 +42% -1% +25% +20% -2%
GA 1,360 1,361 1,488 1,729 1,247 1,223 +0% +9% +16% -10% -2%
HI 144 126 130 140 113 100 -13% +3% +8% -31% -12%
ID 281 255 262 275 209 167 -9% +3% +5% -41% -20%
IL 2,041 1,534 1,586 1,363 927 918 -25% +3% -14% -55% -1%
IN 1,128 974 960 938 754 750 -14% -1% -2% -34% -1%
IA 670 474 527 450 390 360 -29% +11% -15% -46% -8%
KS 509 486 442 428 431 386 -5% -9% -3% -24% -10%
KY 863 712 849 985 760 721 -17% +19% +16% -16% -5%
LA 934 931 894 963 721 675 -0% -4% +8% -28% -6%
ME 223 206 187 169 161 136 -8% -9% -10% -39% -16%
MD 670 729 671 614 496 485 +9% -8% -8% -28% -2%
MA 864 742 444 441 347 337 -14% -40% -1% -61% -3%
MI 1,779 1,545 1,530 1,129 942 889 -13% -1% -26% -50% -6%
MN 754 608 597 559 411 368 -19% -2% -6% -51% -10%
MS 546 662 868 931 641 630 +21% +31% +7% +15% -2%
MO 1,045 931 1,109 1,257 821 784 -11% +19% +13% -25% -5%
MT 291 223 215 251 189 209 -23% -4% +17% -28% +11%
NE 369 237 254 276 190 181 -36% +7% +9% -51% -5%
NV 218 259 313 427 257 246 +19% +21% +36% +13% -4%
NH 151 191 118 166 128 90 +26% -38% +41% -40% -30%
NJ 1,043 964 774 747 556 627 -8% -20% -3% -40% +13%
NM 555 535 485 488 349 353 -4% -9% +1% -36% +1%
NY 2,366 2,006 1,679 1,434 1,201 1,169 -15% -16% -15% -51% -3%
NC 1,506 1,482 1,448 1,547 1,320 1,227 -2% -2% +7% -19% -7%
ND 167 90 74 123 105 148 -46% -18% +66% -11% +41%
OH 1,766 1,646 1,360 1,321 1,080 1,016 -7% -17% -3% -42% -6%
OK 757 744 669 803 668 696 -2% -10% +20% -8% +4%
OR 562 559 574 487 317 331 -1% +3% -15% -41% +4%
PA 2,078 1,771 1,480 1,616 1,324 1,286 -15% -16% +9% -38% -3%
RI 110 109 69 87 67 66 -1% -37% +26% -40% -1%
SC 820 951 881 1,094 809 828 +16% -7% +24% +1% +2%
SD 195 130 158 186 140 111 -33% +22% +18% -43% -21%
TN 1,126 1,101 1,259 1,270 1,032 946 -2% +14% +1% -16% -8%
TX 3,372 3,678 3,183 3,536 3,023 3,016 +9% -13% +11% -11% -0%
UT 272 303 325 282 253 240 +11% +7% -13% -12% -5%
VT 143 115 106 73 71 55 -20% -8% -31% -62% -23%
VA 993 976 900 947 740 764 -2% -8% +5% -23% +3%
WA 758 744 653 649 460 457 -2% -12% -1% -40% -1%
WV 461 420 376 374 315 337 -9% -10% -1% -27% +7%
WI 930 744 745 815 572 582 -20% +0% +9% -37% +2%
WY 210 152 170 170 155 135 -28% +12% 0% -36% -13%
U.S. 44,525 43,825 41,817 43,510 32,999 32,367 -2% -5% +4% -27% -2%
PR 496 600 595 457 340 359 +21% -1% -23% -28% +6%

Source: FARS.
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Table 3.
Traffic Fatality Rates and Percent Change, 1975–2011

State
Fatality Rate per 100 Million VMT Percent Change

1975 1985 1995 2005 2010 2011 1975–1985 1985–1995 1995–2005 1975–2011 2010–2011
AL 3.63 2.51 2.20 1.92 1.34 1.38 -31% -12% -13% -62% +3%
AK 4.38 3.17 2.11 1.45 1.17 1.57 -28% -33% -31% -64% +34%
AZ 4.19 4.14 2.61 1.97 1.27 1.38 -1% -37% -25% -67% +9%
AR 4.01 3.12 2.37 2.05 1.70 1.67 -22% -24% -14% -58% -2%
CA 3.09 2.39 1.52 1.32 0.84 0.87 -23% -36% -13% -72% +4%
CO 3.50 2.21 1.84 1.26 0.96 0.96 -37% -17% -32% -73% 0%
CT 2.13 2.00 1.13 0.88 1.02 0.71 -6% -44% -22% -67% -30%
DE 3.37 1.94 1.61 1.40 1.13 1.10 -42% -17% -13% -67% -3%
DC 2.27 1.86 1.67 1.29 0.67 0.76 -18% -10% -23% -67% +13%
FL 3.24 3.22 2.19 1.75 1.25 1.25 -1% -32% -20% -61% 0%
GA 3.46 2.53 1.74 1.52 1.12 1.13 -27% -31% -13% -67% +1%
HI 3.47 1.86 1.64 1.39 1.13 0.99 -46% -12% -15% -71% -12%
ID 4.78 3.31 2.13 1.85 1.32 1.05 -31% -36% -13% -78% -20%
IL 3.56 2.17 1.68 1.27 0.88 0.89 -39% -23% -24% -75% +1%
IN 3.02 2.39 1.49 1.31 1.00 0.98 -21% -38% -12% -68% -2%
IA 3.75 2.35 2.03 1.45 1.24 1.15 -37% -14% -29% -69% -7%
KS 3.29 2.52 1.76 1.44 1.44 1.29 -23% -30% -18% -61% -10%
KY 3.50 2.50 2.07 2.08 1.58 1.50 -29% -17% +0% -57% -5%
LA 4.60 2.79 2.31 2.14 1.59 1.45 -39% -17% -7% -68% -9%
ME 3.14 2.22 1.49 1.13 1.11 0.95 -29% -33% -24% -70% -14%
MD 2.66 2.19 1.50 1.09 0.88 0.86 -18% -32% -27% -68% -2%
MA 2.75 1.87 0.92 0.80 0.64 0.62 -32% -51% -13% -77% -3%
MI 3.06 2.29 1.79 1.09 0.97 0.94 -25% -22% -39% -69% -3%
MN 2.94 1.86 1.35 0.98 0.73 0.65 -37% -27% -27% -78% -11%
MS 3.80 3.45 2.94 2.32 1.61 1.62 -9% -15% -21% -57% +1%
MO 3.41 2.37 1.87 1.83 1.16 1.14 -30% -21% -2% -67% -2%
MT 5.08 3.03 2.28 2.26 1.69 1.79 -40% -25% -1% -65% +6%
NE 3.29 1.97 1.61 1.43 0.98 0.95 -40% -18% -11% -71% -3%
NV 4.74 3.42 2.24 2.06 1.16 1.02 -28% -35% -8% -78% -12%
NH 2.85 2.53 1.11 1.24 0.98 0.71 -11% -56% +12% -75% -28%
NJ 2.15 1.83 1.27 1.01 0.76 0.86 -15% -31% -20% -60% +13%
NM 5.59 4.03 2.29 2.04 1.38 1.38 -28% -43% -11% -75% 0%
NY 3.63 2.22 1.46 1.03 0.92 0.92 -39% -34% -29% -75% 0%
NC 4.14 2.97 1.90 1.53 1.29 1.18 -28% -36% -19% -71% -9%
ND 3.71 1.61 1.13 1.62 1.27 1.62 -57% -30% +43% -56% +28%
OH 2.75 2.18 1.35 1.20 0.97 0.91 -21% -38% -11% -67% -6%
OK 3.33 2.39 1.74 1.71 1.40 1.47 -28% -27% -2% -56% +5%
OR 3.53 2.61 1.91 1.38 0.94 0.99 -26% -27% -28% -72% +5%
PA 3.26 2.35 1.57 1.50 1.32 1.30 -28% -33% -4% -60% -2%
RI 1.94 1.87 1.00 1.05 0.81 0.84 -4% -47% +5% -57% +4%
SC 3.98 3.56 2.28 2.21 1.65 1.70 -11% -36% -3% -57% +3%
SD 3.76 2.07 2.06 2.22 1.58 1.23 -45% -0% +8% -67% -22%
TN 3.42 3.03 2.24 1.79 1.47 1.34 -11% -26% -20% -61% -9%
TX 3.99 2.57 1.76 1.50 1.29 1.27 -36% -32% -15% -68% -2%
UT 3.42 2.52 1.73 1.12 0.95 0.92 -26% -31% -35% -73% -3%
VT 4.32 2.45 1.71 0.95 0.98 0.77 -43% -30% -44% -82% -21%
VA 2.87 2.04 1.29 1.18 0.90 0.94 -29% -37% -9% -67% +4%
WA 3.16 2.16 1.33 1.17 0.80 0.80 -32% -38% -12% -75% 0%
WV 4.36 3.32 2.16 1.82 1.64 1.78 -24% -35% -16% -59% +9%
WI 3.25 2.03 1.45 1.36 0.96 1.07 -38% -29% -6% -67% +11%
WY 5.36 2.81 2.41 1.88 1.66 1.46 -48% -14% -22% -73% -12%
U.S. 3.35 2.47 1.73 1.46 1.11 1.10 -26% -30% -16% -67% -1%
PR 7.27 5.74 3.83 2.35 1.83 1.93 -21% -33% -39% -73% +5%

Sources: Fatalities—FARS. Vehicle miles traveled—FHWA.
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Table 4.
Alcohol Involvement in Fatal Traffic Crashes, 2002 and 2011

State

Percentage of Fatalities by Highest Driver BAC in the Crash Percentage of Drivers Involved in Fatal Crashes 
Tested for BAC with Known Results in 2011BAC .01+ g/dL BAC .08+ g/dL

2002 2011 Percent Change 2002 2011 Percent Change Killed Survived
AL 37% 35% -5% 33% 29% -12% 56% 40%
AK 36% 33% -8% 33% 28% -15% 90% 71%
AZ 36% 32% -11% 31% 26% -16% 70% 29%
AR 36% 35% -3% 30% 28% -7% 77% 63%
CA 34% 32% -6% 27% 28% +4% 86% 28%
CO 38% 39% +3% 33% 36% +9% 81% 21%
CT 40% 45% +13% 34% 42% +24% 81% 17%
DE 33% 44% +33% 27% 41% +52% 59% 9%
DC 46% 50% +9% 43% 30% -30% 90% 37%
FL 34% 36% +6% 29% 30% +3% 66% 17%
GA 30% 26% -13% 25% 23% -8% 52% 20%
HI 36% 50% +39% 30% 44% +47% 95% 60%
ID 32% 33% +3% 26% 30% +15% 64% 23%
IL 42% 35% -17% 35% 30% -14% 87% 36%
IN 32% 32% 0% 26% 28% +8% 69% 65%
IA 33% 27% -18% 26% 23% -12% 25% 26%
KS 42% 34% -19% 37% 28% -24% 46% 44%
KY 31% 28% -10% 27% 24% -11% 82% 47%
LA 42% 38% -10% 35% 33% -6% 70% 63%
ME 22% 29% +32% 20% 17% -15% 96% 88%
MD 37% 40% +8% 29% 33% +14% 90% 19%
MA 46% 39% -15% 39% 34% -13% 60% 2%
MI 33% 33% 0% 28% 29% +4% 68% 50%
MN 37% 36% -3% 30% 30% 0% 92% 35%
MS 36% 26% -28% 31% 24% -23% 40% 26%
MO 40% 38% -5% 35% 33% -6% 80% 67%
MT 45% 42% -7% 37% 39% +5% 86% 71%
NE 37% 30% -19% 31% 25% -19% 88% 78%
NV 38% 37% -3% 32% 28% -13% 84% 40%
NH 38% 32% -16% 34% 30% -12% 89% 66%
NJ 30% 36% +20% 25% 31% +24% 90% 34%
NM 41% 34% -17% 35% 30% -14% 85% 86%
NY 27% 33% +22% 22% 27% +23% 78% 5%
NC 32% 34% +6% 28% 30% +7% 74% 5%
ND 50% 45% -10% 41% 43% +5% 86% 46%
OH 38% 35% -8% 33% 31% -6% 87% 27%
OK 32% 36% +13% 27% 32% +19% 94% 43%
OR 36% 35% -3% 31% 29% -6% 93% 37%
PA 38% 36% -5% 32% 32% 0% 72% 18%
RI 50% 41% -18% 42% 37% -12% 76% 0%
SC 48% 46% -4% 42% 38% -10% 85% 9%
SD 50% 34% -32% 43% 29% -33% 86% 84%
TN 39% 32% -18% 33% 27% -18% 54% 48%
TX 43% 46% +7% 38% 40% +5% 54% 17%
UT 21% 26% +24% 19% 22% +16% 44% 45%
VT 35% 42% +20% 28% 33% +18% 90% 31%
VA 38% 36% -5% 32% 29% -9% 81% 6%
WA 42% 40% -5% 37% 34% -8% 86% 24%
WV 39% 32% -18% 35% 27% -23% 93% 5%
WI 43% 39% -9% 39% 34% -13% 92% 62%
WY 36% 31% -14% 32% 28% -13% 61% 34%
U.S. 37% 36% -3% 31% 31% 0% 72% 30%
PR 36% 36% 0% 28% 28% 0% 55% 65%

Source: FARS.
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Table 5.
Speeding-Related Traffic Fatalities, by Roadway Function Class, 2011

State
Total Traffic 
Fatalities

Speeding-Related Fatalities by Roadway Function Class

Total

Interstate Non-Interstate

Rural Urban
Freeway or 
Espressway

Other Principal 
Arterial

Minor 
Arterial Collector Local

AL 894 298 15 14 22 22 46 115 64
AK 72 26 2 2 1 4 2 4 8
AZ 825 294 53 14 14 48 48 57 60
AR 549 86 5 2 0 11 8 20 40
CA 2,791 890 34 108 108 292 137 138 73
CO 447 183 11 5 3 49 56 36 23
CT 220 73 0 12 11 14 12 7 16
DE 99 34 0 4 0 14 8 3 5
DC 27 10 0 2 0 0 0 0 8
FL 2,398 296 9 27 5 60 29 2 164
GA 1,223 220 11 17 4 36 41 47 57
HI 100 45 0 2 2 15 11 6 9
ID 167 45 4 0 1 12 7 8 10
IL 918 439 15 49 4 96 86 100 88
IN 750 153 14 7 0 0 14 40 78
IA 360 64 1 1 0 20 5 17 20
KS 386 109 10 0 0 23 24 19 33
KY 721 141 7 5 1 25 27 57 19
LA 675 214 9 15 1 38 37 59 55
ME 136 69 1 0 0 4 20 2 42
MD 485 142 1 26 12 28 25 31 18
MA 337 103 1 14 11 13 10 7 41
MI 889 238 7 23 10 47 46 65 40
MN 368 86 4 4 3 16 20 28 11
MS 630 104 6 0 1 10 1 65 21
MO 784 310 10 22 15 42 58 101 62
MT 209 76 11 0 0 25 12 15 12
NE 181 33 4 0 0 9 5 2 13
NV 246 76 3 4 2 17 19 8 18
NH 90 39 4 3 0 4 1 7 20
NJ 627 174 6 21 19 44 33 16 34
NM 353 147 19 2 0 103 0 0 17
NY 1,169 338 15 35 8 76 50 35 119
NC 1,227 474 21 13 7 67 80 127 159
ND 148 51 3 0 0 11 9 8 20
OH 1,016 299 13 21 8 43 50 88 76
OK 696 213 17 15 4 20 31 44 82
OR 331 103 4 1 0 29 20 35 14
PA 1,286 615 24 38 19 124 143 140 127
RI 66 19 0 0 2 7 4 0 6
SC 828 276 23 19 5 42 48 97 20
SD 111 37 7 0 0 7 5 12 6
TN 946 215 13 16 6 32 41 66 41
TX 3,016 1,165 53 119 86 218 118 214 345
UT 240 90 16 7 0 20 14 1 32
VT 55 20 0 1 0 3 1 10 5
VA 764 287 16 20 5 84 51 51 26
WA 457 165 6 10 5 34 34 47 22
WV 337 114 8 4 0 17 15 42 28
WI 582 195 4 6 9 38 37 53 48
WY 135 51 5 2 0 13 6 14 11
U.S. 32,367 9,944 525 732 414 2,026 1,605 2,166 2,366
PR 359 138 17 12 4 17 50 24 14

Note: The total column for speeding-related fatalities includes fatalities that occurred on roads for which the function class was unknown.
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Table 6.
Passenger Vehicle Occupants and Motorcyclists Killed, 2011

State

Passenger Vehicle Occupants Killed Motorcyclists Killed

Total
Percent Who Were

Total
Percent Who Were

Restrained Unrestrained Unknown Helmeted Not Helmeted Unknown 
AL 682 39.4% 56.0% 4.5% 98 89.8% 10.2% 0.0%
AK 47 29.8% 55.3% 14.9% 10 90.0% 10.0% 0.0%
AZ 431 38.5% 50.8% 10.7% 136 40.4% 53.7% 5.9%
AR 401 37.4% 54.9% 7.7% 64 35.9% 54.7% 9.4%
CA 1,546 59.6% 33.8% 6.6% 414 92.8% 6.3% 1.0%
CO 300 37.3% 61.7% 1.0% 78 35.9% 62.8% 1.3%
CT 144 39.6% 38.2% 22.2% 36 27.8% 66.7% 5.6%
DE 61 44.3% 54.1% 1.6% 19 21.1% 73.7% 5.3%
DC 13 30.8% 46.2% 23.1% 4 50.0% 50.0% 0.0%
FL 1,241 45.8% 49.1% 5.2% 464 41.6% 54.5% 3.9%
GA 877 44.4% 48.0% 7.6% 149 88.6% 10.1% 1.3%
HI 40 37.5% 35.0% 27.5% 32 21.9% 78.1% 0.0%
ID 126 36.5% 57.1% 6.3% 17 47.1% 52.9% 0.0%
IL 577 46.4% 46.4% 7.1% 145 23.4% 75.9% 0.7%
IN 516 48.8% 37.2% 14.0% 118 16.1% 80.5% 3.4%
IA 265 42.6% 45.3% 12.1% 36 5.6% 94.4% 0.0%
KS 305 41.0% 52.1% 6.9% 45 28.9% 71.1% 0.0%
KY 544 43.2% 56.3% 0.6% 71 40.8% 59.2% 0.0%
LA 470 36.0% 57.2% 6.8% 80 73.8% 17.5% 8.8%
ME 102 46.1% 50.0% 3.9% 15 26.7% 73.3% 0.0%
MD 287 47.0% 48.4% 4.5% 76 84.2% 14.5% 1.3%
MA 229 31.0% 47.2% 21.8% 36 83.3% 11.1% 5.6%
MI 576 54.7% 33.5% 11.8% 118 84.7% 8.5% 6.8%
MN 265 48.3% 40.0% 11.7% 42 31.0% 45.2% 23.8%
MS 501 38.3% 61.7% - 58 89.7% 10.3% -
MO 595 29.6% 62.2% 8.2% 82 86.6% 12.2% 1.2%
MT 164 31.1% 66.5% 2.4% 20 45.0% 50.0% 5.0%
NE 141 30.5% 56.0% 13.5% 23 91.3% 8.7% 0.0%
NV 137 39.4% 46.7% 13.9% 41 87.8% 12.2% 0.0%
NH 66 19.7% 80.3% - 14 14.3% 85.7% -
NJ 357 55.7% 42.6% 1.7% 93 89.2% 8.6% 2.2%
NM 240 53.8% 45.4% 0.8% 45 13.3% 86.7% 0.0%
NY 602 57.0% 30.7% 12.3% 170 91.8% 6.5% 1.8%
NC 833 50.2% 45.5% 4.3% 168 93.5% 6.5% 0.0%
ND 114 26.3% 66.7% 7.0% 14 28.6% 71.4% 0.0%
OH 692 38.6% 51.6% 9.8% 165 27.3% 72.7% 0.0%
OK 511 39.3% 56.2% 4.5% 98 19.4% 80.6% 0.0%
OR 215 58.6% 28.8% 12.6% 40 87.5% 10.0% 2.5%
PA 869 30.5% 57.1% 12.4% 199 49.7% 47.2% 3.0%
RI 37 35.1% 59.5% 5.4% 15 40.0% 60.0% 0.0%
SC 547 45.3% 47.2% 7.5% 129 20.9% 77.5% 1.6%
SD 85 24.7% 61.2% 14.1% 14 21.4% 78.6% 0.0%
TN 710 40.0% 52.4% 7.6% 115 84.3% 15.7% 0.0%
TX 1,980 49.4% 41.9% 8.6% 471 45.0% 52.9% 2.1%
UT 166 44.0% 47.0% 9.0% 28 35.7% 64.3% 0.0%
VT 42 57.1% 40.5% 2.4% 8 87.5% 12.5% 0.0%
VA 554 44.6% 54.3% 1.1% 96 97.9% 1.0% 1.0%
WA 291 54.0% 35.4% 10.7% 72 100.0% 0.0% 0.0%
WV 262 32.4% 50.4% 17.2% 27 77.8% 22.2% 0.0%
WI 396 42.9% 47.7% 9.3% 88 10.2% 88.6% 1.1%
WY 101 34.7% 62.4% 3.0% 16 18.8% 81.3% 0.0%
U.S. 21,253 44.4% 47.9% 7.7% 4,612 57.8% 40.0% 2.2%
PR 179 35.8% 64.2% - 53 32.1% 67.9% -

Source: FARS.
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Table 7.
Traffic Fatalities and Vehicles Involved in Fatal Crashes by Type, 2011

State Total

Percent Who Were (by Person Type)

Total

Percent That Were (by Vehicle Type)

Drivers Passengers
Motor-
cyclists

Pedes-
trians

Pedal-
cyclists

Other/ 
Unknown

Passenger 
Cars

Light 
Trucks 

Large 
Trucks 

Motor-
cycles 

Other/ 
Unknown 

AL 894 59.1% 20.1% 11.0% 8.8% 0.6% 0.4% 1,217 41.9% 40.6% 7.8% 7.9% 1.8%
AK 72 45.8% 25.0% 13.9% 12.5% 2.8% 0.0% 92 19.6% 64.1% 0.0% 9.8% 6.5%
AZ 825 39.5% 20.0% 16.5% 17.8% 2.8% 3.4% 1,120 33.7% 38.9% 5.8% 12.9% 8.8%
AR 549 63.4% 15.7% 11.7% 7.7% 1.1% 0.5% 737 32.0% 42.5% 13.7% 8.8% 3.0%
CA 2,791 39.3% 18.0% 14.8% 22.4% 4.1% 1.4% 3,786 43.3% 34.3% 7.0% 11.4% 4.0%
CO 447 51.0% 19.2% 17.4% 10.1% 1.8% 0.4% 587 36.5% 40.0% 7.8% 13.8% 1.9%
CT 220 53.2% 15.0% 16.4% 11.8% 3.6% 0.0% 293 50.5% 28.3% 4.8% 13.0% 3.4%
DE 99 46.5% 15.2% 19.2% 18.2% 0.0% 1.0% 141 47.5% 30.5% 7.1% 13.5% 1.4%
DC 27 22.2% 25.9% 14.8% 29.6% 3.7% 3.7% 29 44.8% 31.0% 6.9% 13.8% 3.4%
FL 2,398 37.5% 16.3% 19.3% 20.4% 5.2% 1.2% 3,298 40.1% 35.8% 6.1% 14.3% 3.7%
GA 1,223 57.0% 18.4% 12.2% 10.6% 1.1% 0.7% 1,691 38.0% 40.2% 9.9% 9.1% 2.8%
HI 100 30.0% 13.0% 32.0% 23.0% 2.0% 0.0% 140 29.3% 37.1% 2.1% 24.3% 7.1%
ID 167 56.9% 26.3% 10.2% 5.4% 0.0% 1.2% 216 35.6% 43.1% 8.3% 8.3% 4.6%
IL 918 47.5% 18.4% 15.8% 14.6% 2.9% 0.8% 1,249 42.0% 32.7% 9.6% 12.0% 3.6%
IN 750 54.8% 18.1% 15.7% 8.1% 1.5% 1.7% 1,044 38.4% 35.0% 12.5% 11.6% 2.6%
IA 360 63.1% 18.3% 10.0% 6.9% 1.4% 0.3% 473 35.7% 40.8% 10.4% 8.0% 5.1%
KS 386 61.4% 22.3% 11.7% 3.6% 0.5% 0.5% 544 36.2% 41.9% 10.8% 8.3% 2.8%
KY 721 61.9% 20.0% 9.8% 6.9% 0.3% 1.1% 1,005 40.0% 40.3% 8.8% 7.1% 3.9%
LA 675 55.3% 16.7% 11.9% 13.0% 2.7% 0.4% 936 35.0% 44.3% 8.7% 9.1% 2.9%
ME 136 65.4% 15.4% 11.0% 7.4% 0.0% 0.7% 169 46.2% 30.2% 10.1% 9.5% 4.1%
MD 485 47.4% 14.0% 15.7% 21.0% 1.0% 0.8% 692 49.1% 31.1% 5.5% 11.3% 3.0%
MA 337 54.0% 15.1% 10.7% 17.2% 1.5% 1.5% 460 50.9% 31.7% 6.1% 8.3% 3.0%
MI 889 50.1% 17.7% 13.3% 15.5% 2.7% 0.8% 1,236 45.5% 37.1% 4.9% 10.0% 2.6%
MN 368 56.5% 19.3% 11.4% 10.6% 1.4% 0.8% 508 44.5% 32.5% 10.4% 8.9% 3.7%
MS 630 62.2% 20.0% 9.2% 7.5% 1.1% 0.0% 807 36.6% 46.5% 7.7% 7.4% 1.9%
MO 784 58.4% 20.7% 10.5% 9.6% 0.1% 0.8% 1,001 38.5% 41.2% 9.5% 8.4% 2.5%
MT 209 62.2% 20.1% 9.6% 7.2% 0.5% 0.5% 264 30.7% 48.9% 9.5% 7.2% 3.8%
NE 181 58.6% 23.8% 12.7% 3.9% 1.1% 0.0% 257 29.6% 45.5% 11.3% 8.9% 4.7%
NV 246 44.3% 14.6% 16.7% 18.7% 1.6% 4.1% 330 37.3% 40.0% 8.5% 12.4% 1.8%
NH 90 55.6% 18.9% 15.6% 5.6% 4.4% 0.0% 120 45.0% 35.8% 6.7% 11.7% 0.8%
NJ 627 43.1% 16.6% 14.8% 22.6% 2.7% 0.2% 877 48.3% 31.0% 6.5% 11.2% 3.0%
NM 353 47.9% 26.1% 12.7% 11.6% 1.1% 0.6% 420 31.4% 43.1% 11.0% 11.4% 3.1%
NY 1,169 38.3% 17.0% 14.5% 24.6% 4.9% 0.7% 1,538 44.1% 32.4% 7.3% 11.2% 4.9%
NC 1,227 51.8% 19.0% 13.7% 13.0% 2.0% 0.4% 1,682 41.4% 38.5% 7.0% 10.4% 2.7%
ND 148 63.5% 20.3% 9.5% 6.1% 0.7% 0.0% 188 25.0% 46.3% 17.0% 7.4% 4.3%
OH 1,016 53.7% 17.4% 16.2% 10.2% 1.6% 0.8% 1,438 43.3% 34.5% 7.9% 11.8% 2.6%
OK 696 56.6% 21.7% 14.1% 6.2% 0.1% 1.3% 902 34.5% 42.0% 11.1% 10.5% 1.9%
OR 331 51.4% 17.8% 12.1% 13.9% 4.5% 0.3% 436 37.8% 39.2% 11.0% 9.2% 2.8%
PA 1,286 54.6% 17.3% 15.5% 11.4% 0.9% 0.4% 1,782 42.9% 33.6% 9.1% 11.8% 2.6%
RI 66 47.0% 9.1% 22.7% 21.2% 0.0% 0.0% 82 57.3% 22.0% 1.2% 19.5% 0.0%
SC 828 50.4% 18.6% 15.6% 13.6% 1.8% 0.0% 1,092 40.4% 39.1% 7.2% 11.8% 1.5%
SD 111 51.4% 28.8% 12.6% 6.3% 0.9% 0.0% 136 33.1% 45.6% 7.4% 11.8% 2.2%
TN 946 59.6% 18.8% 12.2% 8.5% 0.5% 0.4% 1,333 39.8% 41.9% 6.8% 8.9% 2.7%
TX 3,016 50.3% 18.2% 15.6% 14.0% 1.4% 0.5% 4,165 33.7% 42.4% 9.8% 11.6% 2.5%
UT 240 50.8% 22.1% 11.7% 12.5% 2.1% 0.8% 336 40.8% 41.7% 7.1% 8.0% 2.4%
VT 55 58.2% 20.0% 14.5% 5.5% 0.0% 1.8% 67 44.8% 29.9% 9.0% 11.9% 4.5%
VA 764 56.9% 19.8% 12.6% 9.6% 0.8% 0.4% 1,015 41.9% 38.2% 7.3% 10.0% 2.6%
WA 457 49.0% 17.5% 15.8% 14.0% 2.4% 1.3% 596 42.1% 37.2% 5.5% 12.6% 2.5%
WV 337 66.5% 19.3% 8.0% 5.9% 0.0% 0.3% 465 36.1% 45.6% 6.9% 5.8% 5.6%
WI 582 56.5% 15.6% 15.1% 9.8% 2.1% 0.9% 790 39.4% 35.4% 9.7% 11.8% 3.7%
WY 135 51.1% 31.9% 11.9% 4.4% 0.7% 0.0% 163 20.2% 50.3% 16.6% 10.4% 2.5%
U.S. 32,367 50.8% 18.4% 14.2% 13.7% 2.1% 0.8% 43,945 39.7% 38.1% 8.2% 10.8% 3.2%
PR 359 35.1% 15.6% 14.8% 30.6% 1.9% 1.9% 482 48.3% 33.2% 4.1% 10.8% 3.5%

Source: FARS.
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Table 8.
Fatalities in the Beds of Pickup Trucks, by Age, 2011

State
Age

Total<5 5–9 10–14 15–20 21–24 >24 Unknown
AL 0 0 0 2 0 1 0 3
AK 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
AZ 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 2
AR 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1
CA 0 1 0 0 0 2 0 3
CO 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
CT 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
DE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
DC 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
FL 0 0 1 1 1 2 0 5
GA 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 2
HI 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
ID 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1
IL 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2
IN 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
IA 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
KS 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1
KY 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1
LA 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1
ME 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
MD 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
MA 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
MI 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
MN 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
MS 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
MO 0 0 0 2 0 1 0 3
MT 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
NE 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
NV 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
NH 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
NJ 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
NM 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1
NY 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
NC 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 1
ND 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
OH 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1
OK 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1
OR 0 0 0 1 0 1 0 2
PA 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2
RI 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
SC 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 2
SD 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
TN 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
TX 0 0 0 2 2 4 0 8
UT 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
VT 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
VA 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
WA 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 2
WV 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 1
WI 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 1
WY 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0
U.S. 0 2 1 14 6 24 0 47
PR 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0

Note: Includes fatalities in both enclosed and unenclosed beds.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

AL Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

Front 15 years 
and older

Medical reasons, model 
year <1965, rural mail 
carriers/newspaper 
delivery vehicles, vehicles 
operating in reverse.

88.0% <1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing infant seat; 
1–4 or 20–40 lbs in 
forward-facing car seat; 
5 years old (but not yet 
6) in booster seat.

$25 See AL Statutes 
32-5B and 32-5-222.

AK Primary Not 
more 
than 
$15

All 16 years 
and older

School buses, emergency 
vehicles, mail or 
newspaper delivery 
vehicles, vehicles not 
equipped with seat belts, 
non-highway vehicles 
(generally, off-road or 
snowmobiles).

89.3% 3 years and under in CR; 
4–8 years, 20–65 lbs, and 
<57 inches tall in booster 
seat.

$50 See AK Statute 
28.05.095.

AZ Secondary Not 
more 
than 
$10

All 

Front

5–15 years 

5 years  
and older

Designed for >10 
passengers, model year 
<1972, rural mail carriers, 
medical reasons.

82.9% <5 years, children 5–8 
years and not more than 
57 inches tall must be 
restrained in a CR.

$50 See AZ Statutes  
28-907 and 28-909.

AR Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

Front All Model year <1972. 
Not required when an 
emergency exists that 
threatens the life of a child 
or person operating a 
motor vehicle. Any child 
who is physically unable 
because of a medical 
condition (as certified by a 
physician) is exempted.

78.4% 5 years and under and 
<60 lbs; children 60 lbs 
or more may be in a 
seat belt.

$100 See AR Statutes  
27-37-706 and  
27-34-103.

CA Primary Not 
more 
than 
$20

All 16 years 
and older

Medical reasons, 
emergency vehicles, rural 
postal service vehicles, 
newspaper delivery 
vehicles, recycling 
vehicles, taxis.

96.6% 5 years and under or 
<60 lbs in a rear seat; 
<1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing restraint may 
not ride in front if front 
passenger air bag is 
activated; 60 lbs or more 
in rear seat if available.

$100 See CA Statutes 
27315 and 27360.

CO Secondary $65 Front All Ambulance crew, peace 
officer, medical reasons, 
passenger buses, school 
buses, postal service 
vehicles, delivery and 
pickup service vehicles.

82.1% <1 year and <20 lbs in 
rear-facing infant seat; 
1–3 and 20–40 lbs in 
forward-facing CR; 
4–5 and <55 inches in 
booster seat. Seat belt 
allowed for 8–15 or 
>55 inches tall.

$82 See CO Statutes 
42-4-237-7 and 
42-4-1701.

CT Primary $50(4) Front All Medical reasons, 
emergency vehicles 
other than fire-fighting 
apparatus, postal service 
vehicles, newspaper 
delivery vehicles.

88.4% <1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing CR; 1–6 and 
<60 lbs in CR; booster 
seat only in seating 
position with lap and 
shoulder belt; 7–15 years 
and >60 lbs, seat belt 
permissible.

$60 See CT Statute 
14-100a.

(1) Additional processing and surcharge fees are likely to apply.
(2) The word “All” used in this category means everyone must be restrained. For children, that may be in a CR.
(3) May include rear-facing CRs, forward-facing CRs, and booster seats.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

DE Primary $25 All 16 years 
and older

Medical reasons, postal 
service vehicles, tractors, 
off-highway vehicles, 
electric personal assistive 
mobility devices.

90.3% <7 years and <66 lbs in 
age/weight appropriate 
restraint; 8-15 years or 
>66 lbs in seat belt.

$25 See DE Statutes 
21.48.4802 and 
21.48.4803.

DC Primary $50 All 16 years 
and older

Vehicles manufactured 
before July 1, 1966; medical 
reasons; all seat belts 
occupied; seating for >8 
people, taxis (6pm-6am).

92.2% 7 years and under; 8-15 
years for seat belt or 
booster.

$75 See DC Statutes 
50-1801-07 and 
50-1701-08.

FL Primary $30 All 

Front

6-17 years

6 years  
and older

Medical reasons; 
newspaper delivery 
vehicles; solid waste/ 
recyclable collection 
service vehicles working 
designated routes; 
persons traveling in 
the living quarters of a 
recreational vehicle or 
a space within a truck 
body primarily intended 
for merchandise or 
property; school buses; 
buses that transport 
for compensation; farm 
tractors or implements 
of husbandry; trucks 
>26,000 lbs.

88.1% 3 years and under; seat 
belts permissible for 
children 4-5 years.

$60 See FL Statutes 
316.613-4.

GA Primary Not 
more 
than 
$15

All 

Front

8-17 years 

18 years 
and older

Pickups, vehicles 
designed for >10 
passengers, off-road 
vehicles, vehicles used for 
frequent stops (all seats), 
rural postal vehicles, 
newspaper delivery 
vehicles, emergency 
vehicles, driver in reverse, 
taxis, public transit 
vehicles.

93.0% 5 years and older and 
<57 inches; 5 years and 
younger in rear seat if 
available.

$50 See GA Statute 
40-8-76.

HI Primary $45 All

Front

8-17 years 

15 years 
and older

Bus or school bus 
>10,000 lbs, emergency 
vehicles, taxicabs. DOT 
may establish additional 
exemptions.

96.0% 3 years and under in car 
seat; 4-7 in booster seat 
or CR.

$100 
maxi-
mum

See HI Statutes  
291-11.5 and  
291-11.6.

ID Secondary $10 All 7 years  
and older

Vehicles >8,000 lbs, 
postal vehicles, 
implements of husbandry, 
motorcycles.

79.1% 6 years and under. $79 See ID Statutes  
49-672 and 49-673.

IL Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All

Front

18 years 
and under 
if driver is 
under 19 
years 

16 years 
and older

Motorcycles, vehicles 
that stop frequently, 
medical reasons, rural 
letter carriers, model 
year <1965.

92.9% 7 years and under; 
children >40 lbs may use 
lap belt in rear seat if no 
3-point belt available.

$75 See Statutes 625 
ILCS 5/12-6031 and 
625 ILCS 25/6.

(4) If a driver under 18 years old commits a violation, he/she is subject to a higher fine of $75.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

IN Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All All Medical reasons, vehicles 
that stop frequently, farm 
vehicles, RVs, postal 
vehicles, non-drivers in 
parades, public utility 
vehicles, towing recovery 
vehicles, occupant other 
than operator of vehicle 
used by a public utility in 
an emergency.

93.2% 7 years and under. $25 See IN Statutes  
9-19 through 10-11.

IA Primary $50 All

Front

17 years 
and under

18 years 
and older

Delivery vehicles that 
do not exceed 25 mph 
between stops, bus 
passengers, medical 
reasons, model year 
<1965, emergency 
vehicles, motorcycles, 
rural letter carriers.

93.5% <1 year and <20 lbs 
in rear-facing CR; 1-5 
years in CR; seat belts 
permissible for children 
6-17 years.

$25 See IA Statutes  
321-445 and  
321-446.

KS Primary(5) $10(6) All

Front

14-17 years 

18 years 
and older

Designed for >10 people, 
truck >12,000 lbs, off-road 
vehicles, postal vehicles, 
vehicles delivering 
newspapers.

82.9% 3 years and under in 
CR; 4-7 and <80 lbs or 
<57 inches tall in CR or 
booster seat; seat belts 
permissible for children 
8-13 years and for 
children 4-7 years and 
>80 lbs or >57 inches 
tall.

$60 See KS Statutes  
Ch. 8, Article 25,  
and 8-1344.

KY Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All All Designed for >10 people, 
farm trucks registered 
for agricultural use only 
and with gross weight 
2,000 lbs or greater, 
motorcycles.

82.2% 40 inches tall or less in 
CR; 6 years and under 
and between 40 and 50 
inches tall in booster 
seat.

CR $50; 
booster 
seat $30

See KY Statute 
189.125.

LA Primary $25 All(7) 13 years 
and older

Vehicles with gross 
weight >10,000 lbs, 
utility vehicles traveling 
<20 mph, model year 
<1981, postal vehicles, 
farm vehicles, persons 
delivering newspapers.

77.7% <1 year old or <20 lbs 
in rear-facing CR; 1-3 
years or 20-39 lbs in 
forward-facing CR; 4-5 
years or 40-60 lbs in 
booster seat; seat belts 
permissible for 6-12 
years or >60 lbs.

$100 See LA Statutes  
32-295 and 32-295.1.

ME Primary $50 All All Medical reasons, rural 
mail carriers, persons 
delivering newspapers, 
postal vehicles, 
passengers riding in taxi 
or limousine for hire.

81.6% <40 lbs in CR; 40-80 lbs  
and <8 years old in 
safety system that 
elevates child so adult 
seat belt fits properly; 
<11 years and <100 lbs 
in rear seat if available; 
seat belts permissible 
for children 8-17 years 
or <18 years and >57 
inches tall.

$50 See ME Statute  
29-A: 19, 2081.

(5)  Secondary enforcement for other seating positions.
(6) The fine is $60 for violators 14-17 years old.
(7) Louisiana HB 197 was signed by the Governor on May 29, 2012, to expand the seat belt requirement for all seating positions to include SUVs.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

MD Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All

Front

15 years 
and under

16 years 
and older

“Historical” vehicles, for-
hire vehicles, motorcycles, 
trucks, buses, postal 
vehicles, vehicles built 
before June 1, 1964.

94.2% <8 years in appropriate 
CR unless 57 inches or 
taller or >65 lbs.

$25 See MD Statutes 
22-412.2 and 
22.412.3.

MA Secondary $25(8) All All Buses, trucks 18,000 lbs 
or more, taxis, utility 
vehicles, model year 
<1966, postal vehicles, 
farm vehicles, authorized 
emergency vehicles, side-
facing seat in car owned 
for antique collecting.

73.2% 7 years and under and 
<57 inches tall; seat belts 
permissible for children 
8-12 years or >57 inches 
tall.

$25 See MA Title XIV, 
90 MGL Section 13A 
and 90 MGL Section 
7AA.

MI Primary $25 Front All Medical reasons, taxis, 
buses, school buses, 
postal service vehicles, 
model year <1965, 
commercial vehicles 
making frequent stops.

94.5% 7 years and under and 
<57 inches tall; <4 
years must be in CR in 
the back seat; seat belt 
permissible for children 
8-15 years or >57 inches 
tall.

$10(9) See MI Statute 
257.710e and 
257.710d.

MN Primary $25 All All Farm pickup trucks, postal 
vehicles, commercial 
vehicles making frequent 
stops and going <25 
mph between stops, 
vehicles driving in reverse, 
persons riding in a vehicle 
in which all the seating 
positions equipped with 
seat belts are occupied 
by other persons in seat 
belts, model year <1965, 
medical reasons.

92.7% 7 years and under and 
<57 inches tall; seat belts 
permissible for children 
>8 years old or >57 
inches tall.

$50 See MN Statutes 
169.685 and 169.686.

MS Primary $25 Front All Vehicles driving in 
reverse, farm vehicles, 
medical reasons, buses, 
postal vehicles, utility 
meter readers’ vehicles, 
all-terrain vehicles, 
vehicles designed to carry 
>15 persons, trailers.

81.9% 3 years and under in 
CR; 4-6 years and <57 
inches tall or <65 lbs in 
booster seat; seat belts 
permissible for children 
>7 years old, >57 inches 
tall, or >65 lbs.

$25 See MS Statute  
63-2-and 63-7-301.

MO Secondary 
(primary for 
<16 years old)

Not 
more 
than 

$10(10)

Front All Vehicles designed for 
>10 people, trucks 
>12,000 lbs, postal 
service vehicles, vehicles 
requiring frequent entry or 
exit, agricultural vehicles.

79.0% <4 years old or <40 lbs in 
car seat; 4-7 and 40-80 
lbs and <57 inches tall in 
booster seat. If all safety 
restraints are in use, 
persons <16 years old 
must be in rear seat.

$50; 
$10 for 
>80 lbs 
or >57 
inches 

tall

Persons <18 years 
operating or riding in 
a truck are required to 
wear seat belts. See 
MO Statutes 307.178 
and 307.179.1.

MT Secondary $20 All All Medical reasons, 
motorcycles, vehicles 
making frequent stops, 
occupants of motor 
vehicle in which all seat 
belts are being used by 
other occupants.

76.9% <6 years and <60 lbs $100 See MT Statutes  
61-13-103 and  
61-9-420.

(8) Drivers in Massachusetts may be fined $25 for violating the belt law themselves and $25 for each unrestrained passenger 12-16 years old.
(9) The fine is $10 for children <4 years old or $25 for children 4-8 years old and >57 inches tall.
(10) The fine is $50 for violators 8-15 years old.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

NE Secondary $25 All

Front

16 years 
and under

18 years 
and older

Taxis, mopeds, 
motorcycles, emergency 
vehicles, model year 
<1963, parade vehicles.

84.2% 5 years and under; seat 
belts permissible for 
children 6-17 years old.

$25 See NE Statutes  
60-6, 267 and  
606-6, 268.

NV Secondary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All All Medical reasons, public 
transportation vehicles, 
postal service vehicles, 
emergency vehicles, 
delivery vehicles not 
exceeding 15 mph. Any 
vehicle or seating position 
if the State determines 
compliance is impractical.

94.1% 6 years or under and 
<60 lbs.

$100-
$500

See NV Statute 
484D.495.

NH No law for 
persons 18 
years or older 
(primary for 
<18 years old).

$50 for 
persons 

<18 
years 
old

All 17 years 
and 
younger

— 75.0% 5 years and under and 
<55 inches tall; seat 
belts permissible for 
children 6-17 years old 
or <6 years and 
>55 inches tall.

$50 See NH Statute 
265:107-a.

NJ Primary 
(secondary 
for rear seat 
occupants)

$20 All All Vehicles manufactured 
before 1966, medical 
reasons, rural letter 
carriers, fewer belts than 
seats.

94.5% <8 years and <55 inches 
tall; in rear seat if 
available.

$25 See NJ Statute  
39:3-76.2.

NM Primary $25 All All Vehicles >10,000 lbs, 
medical reasons, rural 
letter carriers.

90.5% <1 year in rear-facing CR, 
in rear seat if available; 
1-4 or <40 lbs in CR; 5-6 
or <60 lbs in booster 
seat.

$25 See NM Statutes  
66-7-369 and  
66-7-362.

NY Primary Not 
more 
than 
$50

All 15 years 
and under

Buses, school buses, 
taxis, liveries, emergency 
vehicles, rural letter 
carriers.

90.5% <3 years unless >40 
lbs and no lap/shoulder 
belt available; 4-7 years 
unless no lap/shoulder 
belt available.

$100 See NY Statute 
1229-c.

NC Primary 
(secondary 
for rear seat 
occupants)

$25.50 
($10 

for rear 
seat)

All All Medical reasons, farm 
vehicles, postal vehicles, 
designated commercial 
vehicles, delivery vehicles 
traveling <20 mph, trash/
recycling trucks.

89.5% 7 years and under and 
<80 lbs; seat belts 
permissible for 8-15 
years or 40-80 lbs in 
seats without shoulder 
belts.

$25 See NC Statutes 
20-135.2A and 
20-137.1C.

ND Secondary Not 
more 
than 
$20

All 17 years 
and older

Designed for >10 people, 
farm vehicles, rural mail 
carriers, medical reasons, 
all front seat belts in use 
by other occupants.

76.7% 6 years and under 
and <57 inches tall or 
<80 lbs.

$25 See ND Statutes 
39.21 – 41.1-2.

OH Secondary $30 
Driver 
$20 

passen-
ger

All 

Front

8-14 years 

15 years 
and older

Postal service vehicles, 
medical reasons, vehicles 
delivering newspapers.

84.1% 4 years and under or 
<40 lbs in CR; 4-8 
years and <57 inches in 
booster seat; seat belts 
permissible for children 
8-14 years.

$75(11) See OH Statute 
4513.263.

(11) In Ohio, the law is secondary for children 4 through 14 years old.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

OK Primary Not 
more 
than 
$20

All

Front

All

13 years 
and older

Farm vehicles, RVs, 
motorcycles, motorized 
bicycles, postal service 
vehicles, school buses, 
taxicabs, emergency 
vehicles.

85.9% 5 years and under $50 See OK Statute  
47-12-417.

OR Primary No 
more 
than 
$250

All All Vehicles in interstate 
commerce, designed 
for >15 passengers, 
newspaper and mail 
vehicles, meter and transit 
vehicles, for-hire vehicles, 
trash trucks, emergency 
vehicles, taxicab 
operators.

96.6% <1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing CR; <40 
lbs in CR; >40 lbs and 
<57 inches or <8 years 
in safety system that 
elevates the child so that 
an adult seat belts fits 
properly.

$110 See OR Statutes 
811.210 to 811.225.

PA Secondary $10 All 

Front

8-17 years 

18 years 
and older

Vehicles manufactured 
before 1966, medical 
reasons, trucks >7,000 
lbs, rural letter carriers, 
delivery vehicles, vehicles 
traveling <15 mph.

83.8% 7 years and under. $75 See PA Statute 
75.4581.

RI Primary(12) $85 All All Vehicles manufactured 
before 1966, medical 
reasons, postal service 
vehicles.

80.4% 7 years and under 
and <80 lbs and <54 
inches tall in rear seat 
if available.

$75 See RI Statute  
32.22-22.

SC Primary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All All Medical reasons, 
emergency vehicles, 
postal service vehicles, 
delivery vehicles, parade 
vehicles; school, church, 
or day care buses; public 
transportation vehicles 
except taxis, vehicles in 
which all seating positions 
with seat belts are already 
occupied, persons 
occupying vehicles not 
originally equipped with 
seat belts.

86.0% <1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing CR; 1-5 and 
20-39 lbs in forward-
facing CR; 1-5 and 
40-80 lbs in booster seat 
secured by lap/shoulder 
belt (lap belt alone is not 
permissible); <5 years in 
rear seat if available.

$150 See SC Statutes  
56-5-6520 and  
56-5-6410.

SD Secondary $25 All

Front

17 years 
and older

18 years 
and older

Motorcycles, motorized 
bicycles, vehicles 
manufactured before 
1973, medical reasons, 
passenger buses, school 
buses, farm vehicles, rural 
mail carriers, newspaper 
or periodical delivery 
vehicles.

73.4% <5 years and <40 lbs. $25 See SD Statute 
32.38.

(12) Rhode Island’s primary seat belt law includes a sunset provision that will revert the law to secondary enforcement on June 30, 2013.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

TN Primary Not 
more 
than 

$50(13)

All All Vehicles >8,500 lbs, rural 
letter carriers, utility 
workers, newspaper 
delivery vehicles, 
automobile salespersons 
who drive <50 miles 
per day on average, 
parade vehicles, hayrides 
crossing a highway from 
one field to another if 
operated at <15 mph.

87.4% <1 year or 20 lbs or less 
in rear-facing CR; 1-3 
and >20 lbs in forward- 
facing CR; 4-8 and <57 
inches tall in booster 
seat; <8 and <57 inches 
in rear seat if available.

$50 See TN Statutes  
55-9-602 and  
55-9-603.

TX Primary $50 All All Farm vehicles <48,000 lbs, 
postal service vehicles, 
newspaper delivery 
vehicles, meter readers.

93.7% 4 years and younger and 
<36 inches tall in CR; 4-8 
years and <57 inches in 
booster seat.

$25 See TX Statue 
Sec. 545.412-413

UT Secondary 
(primary for 
drivers and 
occupants 
18 years and 
younger)

Not 
more 
than 
$45

All All Vehicles manufactured 
before 1966, medical 
reasons, all seats occupied 
or person is riding in 
a seating position not 
equipped with seat belts.

89.2% 7 years or under and 
<57 inches tall; seat belt 
permissible for 8-15 
years old or >57 inches 
tall.

$45 See UT Statute 
41-6a-1803.

VT Secondary 
(primary for 
drivers and 
occupants 
17 years and 
younger)

$25 All All Buses, taxis, rural mail 
carriers, delivery vehicles 
traveling <15 mph, 
emergency vehicles, farm 
tractors, vehicles ordered 
by emergency personnel 
to evacuate persons from 
stricken area.

84.7% <1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing CR; 2-7 years 
and >20 lbs in rear seat 
unless front passenger 
air bag is deactivated; 
seat belts permissible 
for 8-15 years old and 
>20 lbs.

$25 See VT Statutes  
23-1258 – 23-1259.

VA Secondary 
(primary for 
passengers 
17 years and 
younger in all 
seats)

$25 All

Front

17 years 
and under

18 years 
and older

Medical reasons, trucks 
>10,000 lbs, school buses, 
motor homes, taxis, police 
vehicles enforcing parking 
or transporting prisoners, 
law enforcement officers 
when seat belts are 
impractical, rural mail 
carriers, newspaper 
delivery vehicles, utility 
meter readers, commercial 
vehicles making frequent 
stops.

81.8% 7 years and under; 
rear-facing devices in 
rear seat if available; if 
not, in front seat, only if 
front passenger airbag is 
deactivated.

$50 See VA Statutes  
46.2-1094 and  
46.2-1098.

WA Primary $124 All All Medical reasons, vehicles 
designed for >10 people, 
when all designated seating 
positions are occupied; 
vehicles exempted by 
State regulation, including 
farm construction or 
commercial vehicles 
making frequent stops.

97.5% 8 years and under and 
<57 inches tall; 13 years 
and under in rear seat if 
practical.

$124 See WA Statutes 
46.63.110 and 
46.61.688.

(13)  In lieu of a court appearance, a first offender may pay a fine of $10; for a second or subsequent offense, the fine is $20.
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Table 9.
Key Provisions of Occupant Restraint Laws and 2011 Seat Belt Use Rates (Continued)

State
Enforcement 

Type
Base 
Fine(1)

Seat Belt Required

Exemptions

2011 
Observed  
Seat Belt 
Use Rate

Child Restraint (CR) 
Required

Base 
Fine

Additional  
InformationSeats(2) Ages(3)

WV Secondary Not 
more 
than 
$25

All 

Front

8-17 years

All

Motorcycles, vehicles 
designed for >10 people, 
vehicles manufactured 
before 1967, medical 
reasons, rural mail carriers, 
trailers. All seat belts in 
use and vehicle contains 
more passengers than 
total number of seat belts 
or other safety devices 
installed in compliance 
with Federal motor vehicle 
safety standards.

84.9% 7 years and under and 
<57 inches tall.

$20 See WV Statutes  
17C-15-46 and  
17C-15-49.

WI Primary $10 All All Emergency vehicles in 
which compliance could 
endanger passengers; 
taxis, farm trucks engaged 
in farming, rural mail 
carriers, land surveyors.

79.0% <1 year or <20 lbs in 
rear-facing CR; 1-3 and 
20-40 lbs in forward-
facing CR, in rear seat if 
available; 4-7 and 40-80 
lbs in booster seat.

$10-
$75(14)

See WI Statute 
347.48.

WY Secondary Not 
more 
than 

$25(15)

All All Medical reasons, 
postal vehicles; excess 
passengers exempted if all 
seats occupied.

82.9% 8 years and younger in 
rear seat if available.

$50 
maxi-
mum

See WY Statute 
31-5-1401.

(14) Penalty not less than $30 or more than $75 for a violation involving children <4 years old and not less than $10 or more than $25 for children 4-8 years old.
(15) Not less than $10 for a passenger or more than $25 for the driver.
Sources: 2011 Observed Seat Belt Use Rates: NHTSA, National Center for Statistics and Analysis, “Seat Belt Use in 2011—Use Rates in the States and Territories,” DOT HS 811 651 
(August 2012). For additional information on occupant restraint laws, see “Summary of Vehicle Occupant Protection and Motorcycle Laws,” 11th Edition, web site: www.nhtsa.gov.

http://www.nhtsa.gov
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Table 10.
History of State Motorcycle Helmet Laws

State
Effective Date of 
Original Law* Effective Date of Repeal/Amendment

AL 11/06/67

AK 01/01/71 06/23/76 Repealed for operators age 18 and over.

AZ 01/01/69 05/27/76 Repealed for age 18 and over.

AR 06/29/67 07/31/97 Repealed for age 21 and over.

CA 01/01/85** 01/01/92 Reinstated for all.

CO 07/01/69 05/20/77 Repealed.

07/01/07 Reinstated for under age 18.

CT 10/01/67 06/1/76 Repealed.

01/01/90 Reinstated for under age 18.

DE 06/21/68 06/10/78 Repealed for age 19 and over. All riders must have helmet in their possession.

07/17/84 Helmet required for instruction permit holders.

DC 02/11/70

FL 09/13/67 07/01/00 Repealed for age 21 and over if covered by insurance of at least $10,000 in medical benefits.

GA 07/01/69

HI 06/04/67 06/07/77 Repealed for age 18 and over.

ID 01/01/68 03/29/78 Repealed for age 18 and over.

IL 07/01/69 07/01/70 No helmet law for any motorcyclists since 1970 repeal.

IN 07/26/67 09/01/77 Repealed.

01/01/84 Reinstated for under age 18.

IA 09/01/75 07/01/76 No helmet law for any motorcyclists since 1976 repeal.

KS 07/01/67 07/01/70 Repealed for age 21 and over.

07/01/72 Reinstated for all.

07/01/76 Repealed for age 16 and over.

07/01/79 Reinstated for ages 16 and 17.

KY 06/13/68 07/15/98 Repealed for age 21 and over provided operator has held motorcycle license for 1 year and has provided proof 
of health insurance when registering motorcycle.

07/04/00 Health insurance requirement repealed.

LA 07/31/68 10/01/76 Repealed for age 18 and over.

01/01/82 Reinstated for all.

08/15/99 Repealed for age 18 and over if covered by insurance of at least $10,000 in medical benefits.

08/15/04 Reinstated for all.

ME 10/07/67 10/24/77 Repealed.

07/03/80 Reinstated for under age 15.

09/23/83 Required for holders of learners’ permits, for licensees holding license for 1 year or less, and for passengers if 
required for operator.

09/01/09 Reinstated for ages 16 and 17, instruction permit holders, operators licensed for less than 1 year, and 
passengers (regardless of age) if required for operator.

MD 07/01/68 07/01/79 Repealed for age 18 and over.

10/01/92 Reinstated for all.

MA 05/22/67

MI 03/10/67 06/12/68 All riders required to have helmet in their possession.

07/29/69 Reinstated for all.

04/13/12 Repealed for age 21 and over with at least $20,000 medical insurance coverage and motorcycle endorsement 
on driver’s license for at least 2 years, or passed a motorcycle safety course, and for age 19 and over operating 
a moped on a public thoroughfare.

MN 05/01/68 04/06/77 Repealed for age 18 and over. Helmet required for holders of instruction permits.
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Table 10.
History of State Motorcycle Helmet Laws (Continued)

State
Effective Date of 
Original Law* Effective Date of Repeal/Amendment

MS 03/28/74

MO 09/28/67

MT 07/01/73 07/01/77 Repealed for age 18 and over.

NE 05/29/67 09/02/77 Repealed (law was never enforced).

01/01/89 Reinstated for all.

NV 01/01/72

NH 09/05/67 08/07/77 Repealed for age 18 and over until Federal law ceases to require a motorcycle helmet law as a condition for 
receipt of Federal funds.

09/30/95 Repealed for all when Federal law requiring helmet laws for Federal funds was voided.

NJ 01/01/68

NM 06/16/67 03/31/77 Repealed for age 18 and over.

NY 01/01/67

NC 01/01/68

ND 07/01/67 07/01/77 Repealed except for operators under age 18 and passengers, regardless of age, if required for operator.

OH 01/01/68 07/10/78 Repealed except for riders under age 18; operators having motorcycle license less than 1 year; and passengers 
if required for operator.

OK 04/27/67 04/01/69 Repealed for age 21 and over.

11/01/75 Reinstated for all.

05/21/76 Repealed for age 18 and over.

OR 01/01/68 10/04/77 Repealed for age 18 and over.

06/16/88 Reinstated for all (by voter referendum).

PA 07/15/68 09/04/03 Repealed for operator age 21 and over if operator has held motorcycle license for at least 2 years or has 
completed rider education. Repealed for passenger age 21 and over if operator is exempt.

RI 04/04/67 05/21/76 Repealed for all operators. Required for all passengers.

07/01/92 Required for operators under 21, operators licensed for 1 year or less, and all passengers.

SC 07/01/67 06/16/80 Repealed for age 21 and over.

SD 07/01/67 07/01/77 Repealed for age 18 and over.

TN 06/04/67

TX 01/01/68 08/29/77 Repealed for age 18 and over.

09/01/89 Reinstated for all.

09/01/97 Repealed for age 21 and over who have completed rider education or are covered by insurance of at least 
$10,000 in medical benefits.

UT 05/13/69 05/10/77 Repealed for age 18 and over. Required for age 17 and under on roads posted for speeds higher than 35 mph.

VT 03/06/68

VA 06/26/70

WA 06/08/67 09/21/77 Repealed.

07/26/87 Reinstated for under age 18.

06/07/90 Reinstated for all.

WV 05/25/71

WI 07/01/68 03/19/78 Repealed except for under age 18 and instruction permit holders.

WY 05/24/73 05/27/83 Repealed for age 19 and over.

07/01/93 Repealed for age 18 and over.

PR 07/20/60

*Original law applied to all motorcyclists, unless otherwise noted.
**Applied only to riders under age 15½.
Sources: Motorcycle Industry Council, Insurance Institute for Highway Safety, Highway Data Loss Institute as of January 2012.
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Table 11.
State Traffic Safety Laws as of June 2011

State

Universal  
Motorcycle 

Helmet Law(1)

Primary 
Seat Belt 

Law
Graduated Driver 

Licensing Law
.08 BAC Per Se

Law(2)
Ignition Interlock 

Law(3)

2011 Observed 
Seat Belt Use 

Rate
Distracted 

Driving Law(4)

AL 1980 1999 Yes(5) 1995 M(6) 88.0% —

AK — 2006 Yes 2001 F 89.3% X(p)

AZ — — Yes 2001 F 82.9% —

AR — 2009 Yes(5) 2001 F 78.4% X(p)

CA 1992 1993 Yes(5) 1990 F(7) 96.6% X(p), H(p)

CO — — Yes(5) 2004 F 82.1% X(p)

CT — 1986 Yes(5) 2002 F(6) 88.4% X(p), H(p)

DE — 2003 Yes(5) 2004 M 90.3% X(p), H(p)

DC 1970 1997 Yes(5) 1999 P 95.2% X(p), H(p)

FL — 2009 Yes 1994 M 88.1% —

GA 1969 1996 Yes(5) 2001 M 93.0% X(p)

HI — 1985 Yes 1995 F 96.0% —

ID — — Yes 1997 P 79.1% —

IL — 2003 Yes(5) 1997 F 92.9% X(p)

IN — 1998 Yes(5) 2001 P 93.2% X(p)

IA — 1986 Yes(5) 2003 M 93.5% X(s)

KS — 2010 Yes(5) 1993 F 82.9% X(p)

KY — 2006 Yes(5) 2000 P 82.2% X(p)

LA 2004 1995 Yes(5) 2003 F 77.7% X(p)

ME — 2007 Yes(5) 1988 P 81.6% X(p)

MD 1992 1997 Yes(5) 2001 P 94.2% X(p), H(s)

MA 1967 — Yes(5) 2003 M 73.2% X(p)

MI 1969 2000 Yes 2003 P 94.5% X(p)

MN — 2009 Yes(5) 2005 M(6) 92.7% X(p)

MS 1974 2006 Yes(5) 2002 P 81.9% —

MO 1967 — Yes 2001 M 79.0% —

MT — — Yes 2003 M 76.9% —

NE 1989 — Yes(5) 2001 F 84.2% X(s)

NV 1972 — Yes 2003 M 94.1% X(s), H(p) (6)

NH — — Yes 1994 P 75.0% X(p)

NJ 1968 2000 Yes(5) 2004 M 94.5% X(p), H(p)

NM — 1986 Yes(5) 1994 F 90.5% —

NY 1967 1984 Yes 2003 F 90.5% X(s), H(p)

NC 1968 1985 Yes(5) 1993 M 89.5% X(p)

ND — — — 2003 P 76.7% X(p)

OH — — Yes 2003 P 84.1% —

OK — 1997 Yes 2001 M 85.9% —

OR 1988 1990 Yes(5) 1983 F 96.6% X(p), H(p)

PA — — Yes 2003 M 83.8% —

RI — — Yes(5) 2003 P 80.4% X(p)

SC — 2005 Yes 2003 M 86.0% —
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Table 11.
State Traffic Safety Laws as of June 2011 (Continued)

State

Universal  
Motorcycle 

Helmet Law(1)

Primary 
Seat Belt 

Law
Graduated Driver 

Licensing Law
.08 BAC Per Se

Law(2)
Ignition Interlock 

Law(3)

2011 Observed 
Seat Belt Use 

Rate
Distracted 

Driving Law(4)

SD — — Yes 2002 — 73.4% —

TN 1967 2004 Yes(5) 2003 M 87.4% X(p)

TX — 1985 Yes(5) 1999 M 93.7% —

UT — — Yes 1983 F 89.2% X(p)

VT 1968 — Yes(5) 1991 — 84.7% X(p)

VA 1970 — Yes(5) 1994 M 81.8% X(s)

WA 1990 2002 Yes(5) 1999 F 97.5% X(p), H(p)

WV 1971 — Yes(5) 2004 M 84.9% —

WI — 2009 Yes 2003 M 79.0% X(p)

WY — — Yes 2002 M 82.6% X(p)

USA 20 States  
and DC

31 States  
and DC

49 States  
and DC

50 States  
and DC

47 States  
and DC 84%(8) 34 States  

and DC

PR 1960 1975 — 2001 — — —

(1) All riders must wear helmets.
(2) Effective date of .08 BAC per se law.
(3)  F = mandatory for all, including first offense;  

M = mandatory for some (e.g., high-BAC [≥0.15 g/dl] or repeat offenders);  
P = permitted for some offenders.

(4)  X(p) = texting ban for all, primary enforcement;  
X(s) = texting ban, secondary enforcement;  
H(p) = handheld cell phone ban for all, primary enforcement;  
H(s) = handheld cell phone ban, secondary enforcement.

(5) Cell phone restrictions for teens, learner and intermediate levels.
(6) New law passed but not yet effective as of June 2011.
(7) Pilot in four counties only.
(8) Nationwide seat belt use rate, as measured by NHTSA’s 2011 NOPUS national survey.
Source: NHTSA.
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For more information:
Information on traffic fatalities is available from the National Center for Statistics 
and Analysis (NCSA), NVS-424, 1200 New Jersey Avenue SE., Washington, DC 20590. 
NCSA can be contacted at 800-934-8517 or via the following e-mail address: ncsaweb@
dot.gov. General information on highway traffic safety can be accessed by Internet 
users at www.nhtsa.gov/NCSA. To report a safety-related problem or to inquire about 
motor vehicle safety information, contact the Vehicle Safety Hotline at 888-327-4236.

Other fact sheets available from the National Center for Statistics and Analysis are 
Alcohol-Impaired Driving, Bicyclists and Other Cyclists, Children, Large Trucks, Motorcycles, 
Occupant Protection, Older Population, Overview, Passenger Vehicles, Pedestrians, Race and 
Ethnicity, Rural/Urban Comparisons, School Transportation-Related Crashes, Speeding, State 
Alcohol Estimates, and Young Drivers. Detailed data on motor vehicle traffic crashes are 
published annually in Traffic Safety Facts: A Compilation of Motor Vehicle Crash Data from 
the Fatality Analysis Reporting System and the General Estimates System. The fact sheets 
and annual Traffic Safety Facts report can be accessed online at www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.
gov/CATS/index.aspx.

www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/CATS/index.aspx
www-nrd.nhtsa.dot.gov/CATS/index.aspx

